Although Nepal was officially united by King Prithvi Narayan Shah of Gorkha in the year 1769 after the annexation of 3 kingdoms in Kathmandu valley namely Kathmandu, Lalitpur/Patan and Bhaktapur, there existed settlements and to some extent a civilization some 2000 years ago. The monument of Kasthamandap proves that the civilization flourished at the seventh century due to the edifice itself being a majestic one. The time duration of medieval period of Nepal was from 1100 A.D. to 1769 A.D. During the period of 1500-1650, most of the structures that can be seen in the current date were built. Some of the magnificent construction works were Nyatapola Temple of Bhaktapur, Krishna Temple of Patan, etc. Similarly, cultural, political and administrative, economic dimensions broadened at the same time. After the annexation at the year 1769 A.D., Nepal was ruled by Shah Dynasty until 2006 which became the last monarch of Nepal.

Patan, Durbar square, third largest city, tourism sector
Patan Durbar/Palace square. This vicinity was the palace of ruler before 1769 AD when it was an autonomous state.

Nepal also experienced a civil war that lasted for 10 years (1996-2006). The war was fought between Maoists and the monarchy, which was a guerilla warfare, meaning it was limited to the villages with less impact in major cities. The rebellion demanded removal of absolute concentration of power vested in the king and wanted a change for republican system. Current system includes a democratic process, existence of parliament, executive governance and an independent judicial system. Election in the country is conducted every 5 years in 3 different levels i.e. local, provincial and the state government. Parliament is responsible for selecting the president, prime minister and other cabinet members.

Parliament unaware about 80 per cent laws formulated under its nose -  Khabarhub Khabarhub
Parliament building of Nepal
Singha Durbar, 1903, Kathmandu photo - Brian McMorrow photos at
Office of the prime minister of Nepal